Track of the Day – “Lost in the Static” by After the Burial

Bobby Bevilacqua

after-the-burial-band-photo

Photo courtesy of altpress.com

I had a lot of choices for the first ever Track of the Day on my new blog. I could have went with a classic, my favorite band, or what’s on the radio the most at the moment. It was tempting to start things off with some Metallica or Slayer, but I went in a different direction.

I first heard of After the Burial on Sirius XM’s Liquid Metal station (Channel 40). I flip between that and Octane (Channel 37) in the car but the dial is usually on Liquid Metal. Ever since the Dig Deep album was released back in February, it’s received a lot of praise and airtime on rock and metal radio, especially over the summer.

Being relatively new to the metal genre, this was my first exposure to the band. After the Burial is a progressive metal band that mixes in some djent and metalcore sounds for a unique and awesome blend of music. I’ve grown really attached to progressive metal, death metal and bands that blend the two genres, so After the Burial’s sound is right up my alley.

“Collapse” was the first song I heard of the band, and it was the one that got the most air time. When Sirius XM started playing “Lost in the Static” more often, it immediately grew on me and became my most played song. About two weeks ago I bought the entire Dig Deep album and have been playing it ever since.

The entire album is really, really good and would be on my list for one of the Albums of 2016, going off of the top of my head. This is the first album following the highly publicized mental breakdown and death of founding guitarist Justin Lowe, and just by listening to the album, you can tell that they put a lot of work and passion into finishing this album.

It was hard to choose one song, but “Lost in the Static” stands out among the rest. The song kicks off with a catchy intro that hooks you into the song, and then hits you right in the jaw with the aggressive vocals of Anthony Notarmaso. The chorus will have you screaming along in your car and you’ll be singing the lyrics and riffs in your head for days on end.

That’s my choice for track of the day, so be sure to leave your comments and opinions on the track below. Also let me know what song that you’re playing today.

 

Leave a Reply

