Track of the Day – “The Soulless” by Charred Walls of the Damned

Bobby Bevilacqua

charred-walls-of-the-damned-band-pic

Photo courtesy of metalblade.com

One of my favorite things is finding new metal bands and hearing one great song that you’re into. Sometimes it happens on a Spotify playlist, by word of mouth, or the radio.

Recently I started as an overnight DJ at WSOU, my college’s on campus radio station. The radio codes different genres and bands by color and has a set playlist to follow so all of the genres and bands get represented and get airtime.

I like to choose bands that I haven’t heard of before so I get to hear new music as well as the listeners. So one of the bands I randomly chose was Charred Walls of the Damned. It sounded pretty heavy and aggressive which is right up my alley so I figured I’d give it a shot.

To my surprise, Charred Walls of the Damned (CWotD for short) wound up being a thrash metal band with some elements of Judas Priest and power metal in the vocals. I wound up playing “The Soulless” off of the band’s most recent album, and the song blew me away.

CWotD was formed by former Death and Iced Earth drummer Richard Christy following a five year hiatus from music. He recruited several other high profile musicians to form a “supergroup;” bass guitar player Steve DiGiorgio from Death, Autopsy, Iced Earth and more, Tim “Ripper” Owens, former lead singer for Judas Preist and Iced Earth, and guitarist Jason Suecoft, best known for his production and song writing with Trivium.

The talent level of the members of CWotD is evident in the band’s best songs. I listened through the entire album, called The Soulless, and some of it is a bit forgettable honestly. But there are a few standout songs, and the title track is by far the best. They hit a grand slam with this song.

From the beginning, you can see Christy’s influence in the band. The drumming throughout the entire song is astounding. Christy is a madman, pounding at the drums at a frantic pace while keeping it from getting to chaotic. It meshes with the song extremely well while giving it a heavier sound on a track that leans toward thrash metal or even power metal in some instances.

The guitar work is also very good, with well composed solos and bridges and riffs. The high-pitched sound in the chorus along with whatever distortion and production the band uses gives the song a unique sound, especially in the chorus, which is very catchy and well written.

I also am a big fan of Tim Owens’ singing in this song. When I chose to play this band without any prior knowledge, I wasn’t expecting a powerful, clean voice with high notes that come close to Rob Halford at points. It works so well in this song, and Owens’ kills his performance on “The Soulless.” He has some powerful vocals that will blow you away.

This song is a masterpiece. I’m definitely going to be playing it a lot more over the coming weeks. If you like it, make sure to check out the rest of the album and see if it’s your cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

